Day 183: Rice Jelly for Invalids

I’m not feeling great so I’m going to try another of the Cookery for the Sick recipes in The New Galt Cook Book (1898). This one is Rice Jelly for Invalids from the mysterious S.B.C.

Rice Varieties advertised in The Canadian Grocer 1898.

Rice Varieties advertised in The Canadian Grocer 1898.

I put 1/4 pound (1/2 cup) of rice in a small saucepan and then added 1/2 pound (1 cup) of sugar. After stirring I added just enough water to cover it and put it on to boil. I soon started to wonder if I had made a mistake. The sugar started to turn to candy long before the rice could be cooked. I added more water but still ended up with some “toasted” rice. I have heard that some of you enjoy reading about the disastrous recipes. Well, this one qualifies. This is not what is meant by sticky rice! It was a mess. So, what went wrong? Did I misread the recipe? Maybe. Should I have covered the pot? Probably. Should I cook the rice significantly more before adding the sugar? Perhaps. Would starting with more water help? Likely. Should I start over tonight? Not a chance. I’m too tired and after all I was making it because I didn’t feel well. Sorting out the options to try again will have to wait for another day.

RICE JELLY FOR INVALIDS
S.B.C.

Carefully look over and wash one-quarter pound of rice, put one-half pound of fine sugar with it, and set on stove with just enough water to cover; boil it until it becomes a glutinous mass, then strain it, add a little salt flavor with any flavor you choose — lemon is nice — let it stand until cool.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cookery for the Sick, Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

