Day 31: Celery Vinegar

Tonight was a reminder that life is full of surprises. I am writing this just before midnight. We had an exhibit opening tonight at the museum where I work and when I came out to the parking lot to head home I found a note on the windshield of my rental car letting me know I had a flat tire. I am grateful to this anonymous person since I was able to get help from my wonderful coworkers in getting the tire changed. I arrived home to find another surprise. My mailbox contained a package from my sister to celebrate one month with this blog. She sent me an apron that says Galt Cookbook 1898 on it!  Now what to prepare in the half an hour before midnight. I decided to try something that sounds easy and that will add to the “store cupboard”. I’m making a half batch of Celery Vinegar using an anonymous recipe in the 1898 New Galt Cook Book.

Since I’m cutting the recipe in half, I put one cup of white vinegar in a pot to heat while I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I weighed some celery and cut five ounces into small pieces. I needed 1/4 pound of celery seed but I didn’t have quite that much. I put both the celery seed and chopped celery in a jar. I added half a teaspoon of salt and then poured the hot vinegar over everything. I covered the jar and gave it a good shake to mix. The vinegar really doesn’t cover all the celery. I’m not sure if I was supposed to use both celery seed and celery. The recipe isn’t very clear. I wonder if it was supposed to say celery seed OR fresh celery. I think there would be a difference in the end result. I did taste my combined version even though I need to wait one month for the final tasting.

There is a distinct celery flavour to the vinegar even after a few minutes of steeping. I’m not sure how I’ll use the vinegar in a month but it is an interesting item. Is it for salad dressings? Would it be used in marinating meat? It appears in the drinks section of the cook book but I can’t imagine using it in a drink. Have you made celery vinegar? How do you use it?

CELERY VINEGAR
One-half pound celery seed, ten ounces fresh celery, one pint vinegar, one teaspoonful salt. If the fresh celery is chosen use only the white tender part. Cut it into very small pieces, place it in a fruit jar and pour over it the vinegar scalding hot, add the salt. Cover tightly, and when it has stood one month strain the vinegar, put it in small bottles and cork tightly.

2 Comments

Filed under Drinks, Uncategorized

2 responses to “Day 31: Celery Vinegar

  1. It might make an interesting addition to a Caesar! Definitely good for dressings.

Leave a comment